"How has Australian politics changed since federation in 1901?"

Thanks for your question. Australian politics has changed in many ways since 1901.

Before 1901, Australia was not a nation. At that time, the continent consisted of 6 British colonies—New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Western Australia—which were partly self-governing but subject to the law-making power of the British Parliament. Through the process of federation, these colonies united and became states of Australia, known as the Commonwealth of Australia.

Your question is going to require you to do some research and come to your own conclusions—however you're in luck, as the PEO has a comprehensive timeline showcasing the highlights of the history of Australian Parliament.

diagram to help explain How has Australian politics changed since federation in 1901?